One week Djembé Intensive

at Gauselfingen in Southern Germany


In this workshop, we will have 5 ½ days on the Swabian Alb in southern Germany to deal with the beautiful Djembé music of West Africa.

We will not only learn a number of grooves complete with bass drum patterns, accompaniment and solo phrases, but also learn about their embedding in the cultural and cult life of West Africa. The complex music of West Africa can best be understood and experienced in its deep structure, knowing the backgrounds in which this wonderful music is played.
We will dedicate ourselves to rhythms from different cultural regions and deal with the music of the Malinke, the Bamana, the Khassonke and possibly even more ethnic groups of West Africa. We will end the evening with Krin music, the log drum of the forest region of Guinea and the Ivory Coast.

To join this workshop, you should have an advanced level on the Djembé, which is usually given with several years of practice. If there is some ambiguity about whether your own level is sufficient, please contact Herman Kathan.

31. October (17:00) – 06. November (17:00 ) 2022

Location: Wir-Tagungshaus in Gauselfingen
Start on Monday and end on Sunday at 5 pm.

Course fee incl. accommodation: 685,-€, reduced 615,-€
In addition, there are 65,-€ catering allowance to be paid in the course.

 

 

back to overview >>

Eine Woche Djembé-Intensiv

in Gauselfingen auf der Schwäbischen Alb


In den Herbstferien Baden-Württembergs und Bayerns werden wir uns 6½ Tage lang auf der Schwäbischen Alb in Süddeutschland mit der schönen Djembémusik Westafrikas auseinandersetzen.

Wir werden nicht nur etliche Grooves komplett mit Basstrommelstimmen, Begleitfiguren und Solophrasen lernen, sondern auch einiges über deren Einbettung in das kulturelle und kultische Leben Westafrikas erfahren. Die komplexe Musik Westafrikas kann am besten in ihrer Tiefenstruktur verstanden und erfahren werden, wenn man die Hintergründe kennt, in denen diese wunderbare Musik gespielt wird.
Wir werden uns Rhythmen aus verschiedenen kulturellen Regionen widmen und uns mit der Musik der Malinke, der Bamana, der Khassonke und evtl. noch weiterer Ethnien Westafrikas auseinandersetzen. Den Abend werden wir mit Krin-Musik, der Schlitztrommel der Waldregion Guineas und der Elfenbeinküste ausklingen lassen.

Die Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an diesem Workshop ist ein fortgeschrittenes Niveau auf der Djembé, was in der Regel mit mehrjähriger Spielpraxis gegeben ist. Bei etwa bestehender Unklarheit darüber, ob das eigene Niveau ausreicht, bitte Herman Kathan kontaktieren.

Termin: 31. Oktober (17:00) – 06. November (17:00 Uhr ) 2022

Ort: Wir-Tagungshaus in Gauselfingen
Beginn am Montag und Ende am Sonntag jeweils um 17 Uhr.

Kursgebühr incl. Unterkunft: 685,- €, ermäßigt 615,- €
Zusätzlich sind 65,- € Verpflegungspauschale bar im Kurs zu entrichten.

 

zurück zur Terminübersicht >>